SBA Loans Available In Tornado-Hit Ohio Counties

By  | 

Columbus, Ohio (AP) -- Gov. Ted Strickland says the Small Business Administration has granted his request for disaster assistance for southeast Ohio counties hit by tornadoes and storms.

The SBA declaration lets individuals and business in counties that incurred uninsured losses from the Sept. 16 tornadoes and storms apply for long-term, low-interest loans.

Tuesday's SBA disaster declaration for Athens County also includes the bordering counties of Hocking, Meigs, Morgan, Perry, Vinton and Washington.

The Governor earlier declared a state of emergency for Athens, Meigs and Perry counties as a result of the storms.

He also authorized $1.6 million in a supplemental grant program for residents with serious essential needs or losses not addressed by insurance, the SBA or other agencies.

(Copyright 2010 by the Associated Press. All rights reserved.)

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus