Honoring Six Hardworking Teachers

By  | 

Six teachers from the Wood County School District received a huge honor Wednesday evening at the Parkersburg Country Club.

Ernest Wayne Clark Junior, Tracy Fauber, Whitny Gesell, Joanna Mulligan, Jaime Seltzer and Brenda Twyman were all recognized as the new members of the National Board Certified Teachers.

Former West Virginia Governor, Bob Wise, was the guest speaker at the dinner hosted by the Wood County Schools.

These teachers earned the certification through an intensive, multi-year process of standards-based performance assessment and peer review.

"It's a little overwhelming, it feels a little unreal. I was fortunate to pass the first time, this is something that's consider as difficult as getting a PHD," says Williamstown High School Science and Chemistry Teacher, Jaime Seltzer.

Wood County Schools has 79 NBCTs which is the highest for any school district in the Mountain State.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus