All Grown Up: 6 Ohio Villages Get City Status

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

Columbus, Ohio (AP) -- Results of the 2010 U.S. Census show six Ohio villages gained enough residents to qualify as cities, including three in fast-growing parts of Franklin County.

Ohio Secretary of State Jon Husted says a community is classified as a city when it has a population of 5,000 or more. Smaller municipalities are proclaimed villages.

A review of census data by Husted's office finds that while Ohio has had a net gain in cities, the number of villages has held steady at 691.

The villages that hit the city mark: Canal Winchester, Groveport and New Albany, all in Franklin County; New Franklin in Summit County; and Waterville in Lucas County.

The changes mean Ohio now has 247 cities, three more than 10 years ago.

(Copyright 2011 by the Associated Press. All rights reserved.)

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
TheNewsCenter One Television Plaza Parkersburg, WV. 26101 304-485-4588
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 119955624 -
Gray Television, Inc.