US Says 14 Ohio Counties Meet Smog Standard

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

Cleveland (AP) -- Fourteen Ohio counties with a history of too much air pollution now satisfy air quality standards for ozone, more commonly known as smog.

But that classification isn't likely to last long.

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency says Tuesday it wants to approve a request by Ohio to designate eight counties in the Cleveland area and six counties in the Columbus area as meeting smog standards.

That's based on a federal air quality standard from 1997.

But a new, more strict air standard was adopted in 2008.

The Ohio EPA believes that, when new federal classifications come out next year, many counties will not meet the new standard.

(Copyright 2009 by the Associated Press. All rights reserved.)

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
TheNewsCenter One Television Plaza Parkersburg, WV. 26101 304-485-4588
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 48207497 -
Gray Television, Inc.