Charleston, W.Va. (AP) -- Workforce West Virginia is notifying businesses across the state that they'll have to pay additional employee unemployment taxes by July 31.
For most employers, the tax is about 2.7 percent on taxable wages. A state law adopted this year changed the taxable base from the first $8,000 of a worker's salary to $12,000.
The measure is designed to stabilize the state's jobless benefits fund. It's expected to generate an additional $70 million for the fund.
Unemployment Compensation Division Director Michael Moore says jobless claims are up this year and the fund likely will need all the additional revenue.
West Virginia's unemployment rate in may was 8.5 percent.
(Copyright 2009 by the Associated Press. All rights reserved.)
Viewers with disabilities can get assistance accessing this station's FCC Public Inspection File by contacting the station with the information listed below. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, 888-835-5322 (TTY), or firstname.lastname@example.org.