Cincinnati (AP) -- An Ohio law taking effect next week says children ages 4 through 7 weighing more than 40 pounds and shorter than 4-foot-9 must be in booster seats when riding in cars.
The National Transportation Safety Board says Ohio is one of four states to enact laws since last year requiring booster seats through age 7.
The NTSB says only 26 of the 47 states with booster seat laws require them through that age.
Three states do not require booster seats, which raise children so seat belts fit properly.
The Ohio law goes into effect Oct. 7.
Police can cite a driver violating the law only if he or she is first pulled over for a different violation.
Initially, warnings will be issued. Full enforcement begins April 7. A first violation carries a fine of $25 to $75.
(Copyright 2009 by the Associated Press. All rights reserved.)
Viewers with disabilities can get assistance accessing this station's FCC Public Inspection File by contacting the station with the information listed below. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, 888-835-5322 (TTY), or firstname.lastname@example.org.