Marshall Math Prof Wins W.Va. Award

By: Assocaited Press
By: Assocaited Press

Charleston, W.Va. (AP) -- A mathematics professor from Marshall University has won the Faculty Merit Foundation of West Virginia's professor of the year award.

Bonita Lawrence received the honor and a $10,000 cash prize Wednesday night at the West Virginia Culture Center in Charleston.

She has been a faculty member at Marshall since 2001 and sits on the university's faculty senate.

Lawrence also has received several awards at Marshall for excellence in teaching, including the Charles E. Hedrick outstanding faculty award.

She earned her doctorate in mathematical sciences from the University of Texas at Arlington, a master's degree in mathematics from Auburn University and a bachelor's degree in mathematics education from Cameron University in Lawton, Okla.

(Copyright 2010 by the Associated Press. All rights reserved.)

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
TheNewsCenter One Television Plaza Parkersburg, WV. 26101 304-485-4588
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 86415122 -
Gray Television, Inc.