West Virginia State Wrestling Tournament

By  | 

Parkersburg South won its second straight Class AAA crown and its 16th overall. David Jeffrey successfully defended his championship at 112 pounds and Tyler Green won his second straight at 140 , and Chris Smith was champion at 171. Also winning Coach of Year was South's Paul Jackson along with Huntington's Rob Archer.

Ripley finished second and Huntington was third and Parkersburg was fourth.

Kyle Bratke and Jordan Nolan took home individual championship crowns for the Big Reds and Nolan was chosen as Wrestler of the Year.

Point Pleasant has unseated 13-time defending champion Oak Glen at the state high school wrestling tournament.

Point Pleasant got individual championships from three wrestlers to win the Class AA-A title Saturday night. Calhoun County was second and Berkeley Springs was third. Oak Glen finished fourth.

Class AAA Finals

103 Pounds: Justin Riggs, Huntington, Dec. Bryce Gainer, Parkersburg South, 7-1.

112: David Jeffrey, Parkersburg South, Maj.Dec. Josh Canterbury, Huntington, 8-0.

119: Justin Arthur, Huntington, Dec. Hunter Wood, East Fairmont, 9-4.

125: Kyle Bauer, Wheeling Park, Maj.Dec. Troy Huffmaster, Huntington, 14-5.

130: Kyle Bratke, Parkersburg, Dec. Caleb Norman, Parkersburg South, 3-2.

135: Tyler Tennant, North Marion, Pinned Sam Dunbar, Nitro, 1:42.

140: Tyler Green, Parkersburg South, Dec. Dane Niday, Spring Valley, 6-2.

145: Jordan Nolan, Parkersburg, Maj.Dec. Cody Richards, Parkersburg South, 10-2.

152: Adam Bicak, Ripley, Dec. Cody Amos, Wheeling Park, 9-3.

160: Evan Thompson, Cabell Midland, Maj.Dec. Clark Ferrell, Parkersburg, 10-0.

171: Chris Smith, Parkersburg, Dec. Dylan Nick, Washington, 2-1 Ot.

189: Isaac Morgan, Fairmont Senior, Dec. Scott Stewart, Spring Valley, 3-2.

215: David Hicks, Ripley, Dec. Connor Mccomas, Huntington, 3-2.

285: Mike Cotterall, Logan, Pinned Zack Kimmins, Wheeling Park, 3:28.

Class AA-A Finals

103 Pounds: Ryan Diehl, Berkeley Springs, Maj.Dec. Zach Brown, Oak Glen, 13-0.

112: Caleb Duong, Point Pleasant, Dec. Danny Suite, Clay County, 7-5.

119: Dylan Cottrell, Roane County, Tech.Fall Austin Whittington, Herbert Hoover, 16-0.

125: Josh Fisher, Roane County, Pinned Tommy Dodd, Liberty Harrison, 1:29.

130: Rusty Mannes, Point Pleasant, Tech.Fall Sam Whiting, Roane County, 15-0.

135: Cody Clark, Calhoun County Dec. Brad Hickman, Roane County, 4-2.

140: Joel Paolo, Oak Glen, Dec. Tevin Hall, Cameron, 5-3.

145: Damen Capper, Berkeley Springs, Dec. Tyler George, Williamstown, 1-0.

152: Ben Laughlin, Calhoun County, Dec. Tanner Whyte, Cameron, 5-1.

160: Tony Bennett, Berkeley Springs, Pinned Jared Haught, Calhoun County, 5:58.

171: Max Nogay, Madonna, Dec. Aaron Yoak, Calhoun County, 13-7.

189: Tim Sutro, Calhoun County, Pinned Brock Mcclung, Point Pleasant, 5:41.

215: Casey Hogg, Point Pleasant, Pinned Pat Nary, Herbert Hoover, :59 Ot.

285: Eli Poston, Grafton, Dec. Hobert Delph, Berkeley Springs, 7-4.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus