Ohio Valley Sprint Car Association Results 4/23/2010

By  | 

STEWART, OHIO-Danny Smith has made history many times before as one of the all-time winningest sprint car drivers and future "Hall of Famer". Friday night, Smith made history once again. The skies were stormy, but the "Thunder and Lightening" came from the on-track fireworks where Chillicothe, Ohio's Danny Smith blitzed the field to become the first-ever Ohio Valley Sprint Car Association winner. The 30-lapper, paying $1,500 to win was run with only two cautions at Billy Jarrell's Skyline Speedway.

Chris Carpenter, South Parkersburg, WV claimed the second half of "Twin 30's" in the Late Model "Spring Thaw" 30-lap feature. Marietta's Rick Venham, Jr. claimed a narrow win over Kenny Johnson in the AMRA Modifieds, Flyin' Ryan Wilson (Marietta, OH) took the Pure Stock win and Portland's Tommy Adkins claimed the Four Cylinder main.

Threatening skies did not keep away a large crowd and large field of cars. Racing was run off without a hitch including the last 77 laps of feature racing which all green flag racing and sent the crowd home at 11:05 when Adkins pulled into victory lane for the final feature.

Sometimes the first of any undertaking needs some refining. For the initial OVSCA run, a little polish on the silver was all that was needed as a strong field, good car count, and great racing highlighted the opening night of the series. At least six cars were caught in nearby storms and headed back home, only to find out Mother Nature had spared racing at Billy Jarrell's speed plant.

The track was in great shape as both the OVSCA sprints and late models closed in on the respective track records. Smith set fast time in the sprints with an 11:08 clocking or average speed of 127 miles per hour. Heat races produced excellent side-by-side, flat-foot racing as the middle groove remained tacky much of the evening on the Skyline high-banks.

One of the original World of Outlaws, veteran Danny Smith, formerly of Danville, Indiana proved to be the class of the field as he blitzed to the inaugural Ohio Valley Sprint Car Association main event. The history-making run saw Smith out-gun his nearest rival, Chillicothe, Ohio driver Josh Davis who challenged early and on the restart, but was no match for Smith. Still Davis maintained a great run to earn a solid second. Had it not been for Smith's dominance, Davis too would have had an impressive run at the win.

Smith lapped every car in the 17-car field up to sixth place Andre Layfield, the rookie sensation who just moved up to the powerful 410's after a successful modified career. While Smith was blasting off into a zone of his own with Davis locked into his sights, the rest of the pack was left to grapple for position. Vandalia's Jimmy Stinson, Kory Crabtree, and Aaron Higgins all battled hard for a top five. Higgins was in from California on an off weekend from the NASCAR West Modified series he is participating in. Higgins was in the Billy Jarrell #51, a team car to Stinson's #84 and premier engine builder Charlie Fisher's #22.

Andrea Layfield was the hard charger of the race with intense pressure from Dave Dickson and Brandy Bower for that top honor. Rounding out the top ten were Danny Smith, Josh Davis, Jim Stinson, Kory Crabtree, Aaron Higgins, Andre Layfield, Dave Dickson, Brandy Bower, Charlie Fisher, and Brian Benson.

Said Smith in victory lane, "It's an honor to win the first race in this deal. I'd like to run the series, but actually I'm just taking it one week at a time. The track was very good, especially for the first night out. The car was right and I was able to run just about anywhere on the track."

Smith went on to thank his sponsors--Smalley Excavating, Kyler Signs, Kears, Indy Screen Print, Butler Built, Mag. Tech, and the Coors Light Racing Gang.

The Hoosier/Hoosier Ohio Valley series met with great success with more members expected to join and several other cars damaged last week expected to join the series in the following weeks.

The Ohio Valley Sprint Car Association (OVSCA) is a 410 Sprint Car Series which sanctions 410 Outlaw style sprint car racing regionally in the Ohio-West Virginia area within two hours of the Charleston, WV area. The sanctioning body was born during the off-season prior to the 2010 racing season in an effort to promote and provide sprint car racing teams within a uniform set of rules; and stabilize purses for the betterment of the sport of 410 sprint car racing. The organization also offers sprint car teams an alternative to use a tire brand, namely Hoosier Tires, in contrast to track tire deals that command the use of other tire brands. The racing season for the OVSCA runs from April through October.

All OVSCA races pay at least $1,500 to win and $200 to start with at least one monthly special event that features a bolstered purse structure. Points will be kept for all drivers. The top 20 in points will be awarded a cash award at the end of the season with a season champion to be crowned.

Fast Time: Jim Stinson 11.08 (Drew "0" for Inversion)

Heat One: Danny Smith, Jim Stinson, Wes McGlumphy, Brian Benson, Eddie Miller, Brandy Bower, Chris Myers, Tim Mosher, Greg Mitchell

Heat Two: Josh Davis, Kory Crabtree, Aaron Higgins, Charlie Fisher, Bryce Dickson, Dave Dickson, Andre Layfield, Sam Mosher

Feature: Danny Smith, Josh Davis, Jim Stinson, Kory Crabtree, Aaron Higgins, Andre Layfield, Dave Dickson, Brandy Bower, Charlie Fisher, Brian Benson, Bryce Dickson, Chris Myers, Sam Mosher, Tim Mosher, Wes McGlumphy, Eddie Miller, Greg Mitchell