NCAA Approves Mountain East Conference

(AP) - The Mountain East Conference has been approved for NCAA Division II membership.

The NCAA Division II Membership Committee accepted the league's application Friday.

The 12-team league consists of Concord, Fairmont State, Glenville State, Shepherd, the University of Charleston, West Liberty, West Virginia State, Wheeling Jesuit, West Virginia Wesleyan, Notre Dame (Ohio), Urbana (Ohio) and Virginia-Wise. The West Virginia schools are currently in the West Virginia Conference.

The new conference will debut in September and will crown champions in 16 sports. Schools will be able to receive at-large but not automatic bids to NCAA tournaments in the first two seasons.

MEC commissioner Reid Amos calls it a very exciting time for the conference.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus