Archery season begins for Ohio and West Virginia Saturday

By  | 

Hunters will have their first opportunity to pursue white-tailed deer when archery season opens on Saturday, Sept. 30, according to the Ohio Department of Natural Resources.

Deer hunting hours are 30 minutes before sunrise to 30 minutes past sunset for all deer seasons.

Ohio’s 2017-2018 deer season beings with Archery, September 30, 2017-February 4, 2018.

Deer hunters will find the hunting regulations similar to last year, but bag limits were changed in certain counties.

County-wide bag limits have increased from two deer per county to three deer per county in Athens, Belmont, Carroll, Coshocton, Fairfield, Gallia, Guernsey, Harrison, Hocking, Jackson, Jefferson, Lawrence, Meigs, Monroe, Morgan, Muskingum, Noble, Perry, Tuscarawas, Vinton and Washington counties.

These changes are designed to slow the rate of herd growth, while still allowing herds to grow.

County-wide bag limits have decreased from three deer per county to two deer per county in Allen, Defiance, Fulton, Henry, Paulding, Putnam and Williams counties. These changes are designed to encourage herd growth in these counties.

All other county bag limits remain the same. The statewide bag limit remains at six deer. Only one deer may be antlered, and a hunter cannot exceed a county bag limit.

West Virginia's 2017 archery and crossbow seasons for white-tailed deer, black bear and wild boar will open Saturday, September 30th as well.

The archery and crossbow deer and boar seasons run through Dec. 31.

The bear archery and crossbow season is a split season (Sept. 30 – Nov. 18 and Dec. 4 – Dec. 31) with the exception of Logan, McDowell, Mingo and Wyoming counties, in which the season will be open Sept. 30 – Dec. 31.