Disaster declaration sought for 12 West Virginia counties

By  | 

CHARLESTON, W.Va. (AP) - West Virginia Gov. Jim Justice is seeking a federal disaster declaration for a dozen counties hit by flooding last month.

Justice asked President Donald Trump last week for individual and public assistance in Harrison, Marion, Marshall, Ohio and Wetzel counties, and for public assistance in Doddridge, Monongalia, Preston, Randolph, Taylor, Tucker and Tyler counties.

According to preliminary damage assessments, 161 homes were destroyed or had major damage and 557 homes had minor damage in the storms on July 28 and 29.

The storms closed or damaged more than 20 roads in the northern part of the state after at least 3 inches of rain triggered flooding and mudslides.

(Copyright 2017 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus