Educators honored for contributions to the classroom

PARKERSBURG, W.Va. (WTAP) - Three Parkersburg South High School teachers are honored during the Wood County Board of Education's meeting.

Jaime Kupfner from Parkersburg South High School is recognized as the West Virginia Association of Student Council's Sponsor of the Year. She's taught biology and environmental science at South for the last two and a half years.

Betsy Patterson from Parkersurg South is recognized as Principal of the Year from the same organization. She became the school's principal two years ago in July. She's been an educator for over 30 years.

Michelle Talbott from Parkersburg South is honored as Educator or the Year from the National Speech and Debate Association. Each state educator of the year award winner will be considered for the 2017-2018 National Educator of the Year.

The national award winner will be announced on National Speech and Debate Education Day March 2, 2018.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus